Catalonia: The Four Main Provinces

Catalonia is the second most populated autonomous region in Spain with just over 7.5 million inhabitants. Located in the north east of Spain, Catalonia shares borders with both France, Andorra and the Pyrenees mountain range. To the west of Catalonia is the autonomous region of Aragon, the region of Valencia to the south and the Mediterranean Sea to the east.

The Provinces of Catalonia

Interestingly, Catalonia is made up of four different Spanish Provinces, Barcelona is the capital of Catalonia and is also the second largest City in Spain. North of Barcelona is the Province of Girona, LLeida to the east and Tarragona to the south. The Mediterranean coastline of Catalonia is known as the Costa Brava, here you can find some vibrant tourism beach resorts such as Lloret de Mar and Tossa de Mar.

The official languages spoken in Catalonia are Catalan, Spanish and Aranese Occitan in certain parts. Barcelona in particular is a beautiful City with some amazing architecture on offer, this is largely thanks to the creative genius of Antoni Gaudí. The work of Gaudí is apparent throughout the entire City with some of the most recognisable buildings being the work of Gaudí himself.